According to the company, Android users of the navigation app, Google Maps, will now be able to search and as summon directions via a private mode that keeps data from being linked to your Google account.
When you enable incognito Mode in Maps, the app will not save your browse or search history and nor will it update your location history or shared location.
Word of the rollout comes via a Google Maps support page, as first spotted by AndroidPolice. Interestingly, once you activate Incognito in Google Maps, it stays that way until you manually change it, which means you'll remain anonymous even after you restart the app from scratch after clearing it from the memory or force stopping it from the Settings app.
Of course, Google Maps will still need your actual geographical location in order to properly place you on the map, just like how web browsers still need your IP address or some pieces of browser data. It also won't send you notifications while in Incognito mode, so you might need to be more aware of your surroundings or schedules in that case. Curiously, if you use Google Maps via third-party apps or Google Search, some data and activity may also be recorded as if Incognito Mode wasn't working at all. You'll notice that the status bar up top has turned black and the phrase "Incognito mode is on" has been aligned to the center.
It is therefore useful for those who wish to get rid of personalized recommendations prompted by Google, but it should not be seen as an entirely reliable privacy tool.
As well as Incognito for Maps, Google teased two other services to enhance privacy protection in its services last month. It's rolling out in batches, beginning with Android users.