You do have the option to unlink accounts prior to merging, however.
Merged accounts also can't be now banned, or disabled and players will need to be able to access all email addresses associated with the accounts they want to merge.
With a little patience, however, you could soon have all of your Fortnite victories housed in a single, unified account that can be used on every platform. The first is a primary account, which is the one you'll want to continue using. One primary account must be selected and one secondary account must be selected.
After a fortnight - that's two weeks, but I wasn't going to ignore the low-hanging fruit there - your cosmetic items and V-Bucks will be transferred to your Primary account. This is the main account that all other accounts will "merge" to - the account that will end up being the final, main account at the end of the process. Just to be clear, the wording specifies that the second account is disabled. If you have a Battle Pass active or maps you want to keep on one platform, make sure to select it as your Primary Account to keep your work. Save The World is slightly more limited: you can only merge Llamas, Defenders, Heroes, Schematics, Survivors, XP, Evolution, and Perk Materials.
Sign in to the primary account.
There are a few conditions imposed on account mergers, but they all make sense. Two weeks later your Fortnite Cosmetic Items and V-Bucks will be transferred to your Primary Account. This merger tool is specifically created to help people affected by the Sony account lockdown issue, and will not help you merge two unrelated old accounts.
You can begin the process by heading on over to the official site, where Epic has set up a page especially for this.
Epic's account-merging feature combines your purchases (and some game progress) to the account you use regularly, and deletes any other account you made because you had to.