Jason Heyward first Cub with consecutive Gold Gloves since Greg Maddux

Colorado Rockies' Nolan Arenado gets his glove on a grounder hit by Arizona Diamondbacks' Chris Iannetta before throwing to first base for the out during the eighth inning of a baseball game in Ph

Jason Heyward first Cub with consecutive Gold Gloves since Greg Maddux

Arenado is the first player in Rockies franchise history to win five consecutive Gold Gloves, extending his own record set last season when he surpassed Larry Walker's previous record of three straight (1997-1999).

For 4 straight seasons from 2011-2014, Barnhart was rated by Baseball America the best defensive catcher in the organization and following the 2011 season received Minor League Baseball's prestigious Rawlings Gold Glove Award for catchers. He was seeking to become the first Detroit infielder to win back-to-back Gold Gloves since Lou Whitaker (1983-1985).

Hosmer was awarded his fourth Gold Glove. Cain has never won a Gold Glove.

Third baseman Evan Longoria of the Tampa Bay Rays was awarded the third Rawlings Gold Glove Award of his career on Tuesday. Hosmer is tied with the Dodgers' Adrian Gonzalez for most Gold Gloves among active first basemen.

There were six first-time winners.

In just his second full year in the big leagues, Buxton emerged as one of the top outfielders in all of baseball. The duo both won the award at their respective positions in 2014. He was also tops among AL first basemen in innings (1338.0) and total chances (1314), while finishing second in putouts (1314) and fourth in fielding percentage (.997).

Voting for the awards is 75 percent managers and coaches, and 25 percent statistical analysis.

BMW adds lightness to the 2018 M3 with CS edition
Putin-Trump bilateral in Vietnam 'likely'