Black Caps crush India thanks to Munro ton

On This Day November 5 Virat Kohli was born Reliving the batting superstar's greatest performances

Virat Kohli is perhaps in the form pf his life right now

Rajkot: New Zealand have won the toss and elected to bat against India in their second T20 global at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, here on Saturday.

The Black Caps made two changes to their team. The 40 run win meant New Zealand went on to level the series 1-1 with Munro taking the man of the match award. India drafted in the debutant Mohammad Siraj in the place of Ashish Nehra who retired from global cricket after the previous game.

Hello and welcome to our coverage of the second Twenty20 worldwide between India and New Zealand at Rajkot.

The opening pair put up a commanding display making the most of the power-play options and though the home team removed skipper Kane Williamson cheaply in the 15th over, with the right hander having a go at Siraj and offering a straight forward catch to Rohit Sharma at deep forward of square leg, Munro demonstrated the fearless and flamboyant trait to bat right through the innings.

That's still an impressive tally for the new opener, and he said the important thing is not to dwell on any poor performances given his role.

The 11th over bowled by Axar Patel (0-39) saw 21 runs scored in it as the 100-run opening partnership came off just 66 deliveries.

In reply, India lost both openers to Trent Boult in his first over.

1 - Colin Munro is the first player in history to score two T20I centuries in the same calendar year. His blistering knock ensured New Zealand post a huge total of 196 runs with a loss two wickets on the board after 20 overs. Shreyas Iyer initially attacked the kiwi bowlers but then slowed down the pace of his innings as it seemed he was trying to hit every ball out of the park. Virat soon got to his 18th fifty in T20i's but the scoreboard pressure got the better off him as he got on 65 runs off 42 balls.

2 - Virat Kohli is now the second highest run-getter in T20Is.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Philips, Mitchell Santner, IshSodhi and Tim Southee.

Start Him - Former Liverpool Star Gives West Ham Team Selection Advice
Carter Page met with Russian government officials during 2016 trip