NBA Awards: Russell Westbrook named MVP after historic season

Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook right is applauded by Oscar Robertson left on his triple-double record

Basketball 0

Russell Westbrook was voted the NBA MVP Monday night after he set a league all-time record of 42 triple-doubles during his record-setting regular season.

Westbrook averaged a mind-boggling 31.6 points, 10.4 assists and 10.7 rebounds over 81 games, making him the first player to average double-digits in three major categories since Oscar Robertson first did it in 1961-62. Westbrook led Oklahoma City to 47 wins and the sixth seed in the Western Conference after Kevin Durant left the Thunder and signed with the Golden State Warriors as a free agent.

The Oklahoma City Thunder playmaker beat out James Harden of the Houston Rockets and Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs to claim his first MVP gong in a hotly-contested three-horse race for the league's highest individual honour.

Jordan, the National Basketball Association legend, won his first of five MVP awards in 1988, and went on to win his first title three years later in 1991.

Late next week, we could hear whether Russell Westbrook MVP is going to stick around Oklahoma City for several more years, or move on to another team.

Earlier, Milwaukee's Malcolm Brogdon became the first player not picked in the first round of the draft to win National Basketball Association rookie of the year honors in the common draft era.

Teammate Giannis Antetokounmpo won the most improved player award.

During Westbrook's acceptance speech on Monday night, he became emotional as he thanked his parents.

The Thunder's Victor Oladipo won the fan award for the "Dunk of The Year".

In games during which he recorded a triple-double, the Thunder was 33-9.

Hall of Famer Bill Russell was given the NBA's first lifetime achievement award, which was presented to him by five fellow Hall of Fame centers: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, David Robinson, Alonzo Mourning, Dikembe Mutombo and Shaquille O'Neal.

Mike D'Antoni collected his second Coach of the Year award for steering Houston to a semifinal finish in the postseason.

"I can't say thank you enough, you guys sacrificed everything you've done in your life".

Westbrook received 69 first-point votes, which were worth 10 points and 888 overall points.

Philadelphia's Dario Saric and Brogdon were unanimously selected to the All-Rookie first team. They were joined by Philly's Joel Embiid, Sacramento's Buddy Hield and the Knicks' Willy Hernangomez. I'm just thankful for having you guys in my corner.

Another Bucks standout, Milwaukee guard Malcolm Brogdon, won Rookie of the Year honors and thanked his teammates.

The second team was Denver's Jamal Murray, Boston's Jaylen Brown, the Suns' Marquese Chriss, Lakers guard Brandon Ingram and Dallas guard Yogi Ferrell.

Remy Ma Beats Nicki Minaj, Crowns The New Queen Of Rap
Case of gay couple's wedding cake heads to Supreme Court